Jennifer Zabik, P.E., S.E.The Cold-Formed Steel Engineers Institute (CFSEI) has named Jennifer Zabik, P.E., S.E., president of Zabik-Turner Engineering, LLC as the recipient of the 2018 CFSEI John P. Matsen Award for Distinguished Service. The award recognizes the significant contributions of an individual who has volunteered time, talent and resources to the cold-formed steel industry. It was renamed in 2016 to honor John P. Matsen, P.E., founder and principal of Matsen Ford Design Associates in Waukesha, Wisconsin, who passed away in June 2015. Jennifer Zabik was recognized during the 2018 CFSEI Expo held May 15-16 at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside Hotel in San Diego, California.

“Jennifer has contributed countless hours to educating others about using cold-formed steel in building construction through her work at CFSEI,” said Maribeth Rizzuto, LEED AP – BD+C, managing director of the Cold-Formed Steel Engineers Institute. “She has taken on everything we offer, from presenting webinars to leading CFSEI Expo sessions to leading the Florida chapter to being president of our National Executive Committee. Her tremendous efforts have advanced the use of cold-formed steel framing in the marketplace. Jennifer is valued and respected by her peers at CFSEI, and we are honored to present her with our highest award for individual achievement.”

Photo: Jennifer Zabik, P.E., S.E.; Georgi Hall, CFSEI Executive Committee Chair (2017-2018)

Jennifer Zabik, P.E., S.E. oversees all engineering and drafting for the design of structural engineering projects for Zabik-Turner Engineering, LLC. She is based in Winter Garden, Florida and is licensed in multiple states and Puerto Rico. She has served in multiple leadership positions with CFSEI, including membership on the Florida Chapter’s Board of Directors from 2009-2013 and as its president from 2010-2011, and as a member of CFSEI’s National Executive Committee from 2013-2014, serving as vice chair in 2014 and as president in 2015-2016. She was on the Board of Directors for the Structural Engineering Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE – SEI) from 2010-2014, serving as director in 2014.